Always Watching

A Novel

Always Watching

She helps people put their demons to rest. But she has a few of her own... In the lockdown ward of a psychiatric hospital, Dr. Nadine Lavoie is in her element. She has the tools to help people, and she has the desire—healing broken families is what she lives for. But Nadine doesn't want to look too closely at her own past because there are whole chunks of her life that are black holes. It takes all her willpower to tamp down her recurrent claustrophobia, and her daughter, Lisa, is a runaway who has been on the streets for seven years. When a distraught woman, Heather Simeon, is brought into the Psychiatric Intensive Care Unit after a suicide attempt, Nadine gently coaxes her story out of her—and learns of some troubling parallels with her own life. Digging deeper, Nadine is forced to confront her traumatic childhood, and the damage that began when she and her brother were brought by their mother to a remote commune on Vancouver Island. What happened to Nadine? Why was their family destroyed? And why does the name Aaron Quinn, the group's leader, bring complex feelings of terror to Nadine even today? And then, the unthinkable happens, and Nadine realizes that danger is closer to home than she ever imagined. She has no choice but to face what terrifies her the most...and fight back. Sometimes you can leave the past, but you can never escape. Told with the trademark powerful storytelling that has had critics praising her work as "Gripping" (Kirkus), "Jaw-dropping" (Publishers Weekly) and "Crackling with suspense" (People magazine), ALWAYS WATCHING shows why Chevy Stevens is one of the most mesmerizing new talents of our day.

Always Watching (Elite Guardians Book #1)

Always Watching (Elite Guardians Book #1)

The bodyguards of Elite Guardians Agency have more than just skill and prowess in common--they're also all women. When it becomes clear that popular psychiatrist and radio personality Wade Savage has a stalker, his father secretly hires Elite Guardians in order to protect his son. But when Wade's bodyguard is attacked and nearly killed, agency owner Olivia Edwards must step in and fill the gap. Olivia's skills are about to be tested to the limit as Wade's stalker moves from leaving innocent gifts at his door to threatening those closest to him. Olivia has the feeling that she's next on the list. And to complicate things even further, she realizes that her heart may be in as much danger as her client. Bestselling author and fan favorite Lynette Eason drops readers right into the action in this fast-paced new series with a unique twist. Readers will love these strong female characters who put it all on the line to save lives.

Because I'm Watching

A Novel

Because I'm Watching

Welcome back to Virtue Falls, Washington, where one woman is being held captive by her own delusions. . . She had survived, but she is still held captive... Of her memories, her loneliness, her delusions. But are they truly delusions? The survivor of a college dorm massacre, a woman accused of her lover’s murder, Madeline Hewitson is haunted by ghosts and tormented by a killer only she can see. At night, she works, writing and drawing the monster that slithers through her imagination, and living in fear of those moments when the doors of her mind unhinge and her nightmare lives in the daylight. A seasoned military veteran, Jacob Denisov lives alone in his small, darkened home, sleepless, starving, and angry. Every day he lives with the guilt that comes from his own failures and the carnage that followed. When neighbor Madeline Hewitson drives her car through the front wall of his house, she breaks his house—and his life—wide open. Forced to view the world outside, Jacob watches Maddie, recognizes a kindred spirit and wonders what she fears more than herself. Has someone caught her in a twisted labyrinth of revenge and compassion, guilt and redemption, murder and madness? When Maddie's imaginary killer takes form, she fights back. But will she be strong enough to triumph, or is the killer she fears no more than a shadow, an illusion...that watches? “Smart, dramatic...with unexpected twists, psychological tension, and emotional depth.”—Kirkus Reviews on Christina Dodd's Because I'm Watching.

Child of the Prophecy: A Sevenwaters Novel 3

Child of the Prophecy: A Sevenwaters Novel 3

The third book in the epic and compulsively readable Sevenwaters series Child of the Prophecy is the eagerly-awaited follow-up to the winner of the Aurealis Award Son of the Shadows and the international bestseller Daughter of the Forest. Raised in an isolated cove, Fainne has been sent to live at Sevenwaters and burdened with a terrible task. She must use whatever powers she can to prevent the Fair Folk winning back the Islands, no matter what the cost. Even if it means denying herself the one she loves. But can Fainne turn her back on the people she has come to care for? And can she bring herself to rid the world of the chosen one-child of the prophecy? PRAISE FOR THE SERIES "Enormously satisfying ... enchanting, deftly told" Good Reading "There are some series so lyrical, so well-conceived, that every new book is a delight, and this describes Marillier's Sevenwaters." The Weekend West "A rousing page-turner, a heady blending of romance, magic and battle" Booklist Fans of Marion Zimmer Bradley, Isobelle Carmody and Robin Hobb will love Juliet Marillier.

Personal (with bonus short story Not a Drill)

A Jack Reacher Novel

Personal (with bonus short story Not a Drill)

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Jack Reacher returns in another fast-moving, action-packed, suspenseful book from Lee Child. You can leave the army, but the army doesn’t leave you. Not always. Not completely, notes Jack Reacher—and sure enough, the retired military cop is soon pulled back into service. This time, for the State Department and the CIA. Someone has taken a shot at the president of France in the City of Light. The bullet was American. The distance between the gunman and the target was exceptional. How many snipers can shoot from three-quarters of a mile with total confidence? Very few, but John Kott—an American marksman gone bad—is one of them. And after fifteen years in prison, he’s out, unaccounted for, and likely drawing a bead on a G8 summit packed with enough world leaders to tempt any assassin. If anyone can stop Kott, it’s the man who beat him before: Reacher. And though he’d rather work alone, Reacher is teamed with Casey Nice, a rookie analyst who keeps her cool with Zoloft. But they’re facing a rough road, full of ruthless mobsters, Serbian thugs, close calls, double-crosses—and no backup if they’re caught. All the while Reacher can’t stop thinking about the woman he once failed to save. But he won’t let that that happen again. Not this time. Not Nice. Reacher never gets too close. But now a killer is making it personal. BONUS: This edition includes the short story "Not a Drill" and an excerpt from Lee Child's Make Me. Praise for Personal “The best one yet.”—Stephen King “Reacher is the stuff of myth, a great male fantasy. . . . One of this century’s most original, tantalizing pop-fiction heroes . . . Child does a masterly job of bringing his adventure to life with endless surprises and fierce suspense.”—The Washington Post “Yet another satisfying page-turner.”—Entertainment Weekly “Reacher is always up for a good fight, most entertainingly when he goes mano a mano with a seven-foot, 300-pound monster of a mobster named Little Joey. But it’s Reacher the Teacher who wows here.”—Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times “Jack Reacher is today’s James Bond, a thriller hero we can’t get enough of. I read every one as soon as it appears.”—Ken Follett “Reacher’s just one of fiction’s great mysterious strangers.”—Maxim “If you like fast-moving thrillers, you’ll want to take a look at this one.”—John Sandford “Fans won’t be disappointed by this suspense-filled, riveting thriller.”—Library Journal (starred review) “Child is the alpha dog of thriller writers, each new book zooming to the top of best-seller lists with the velocity of a Reacher head butt.”—Booklist “Every Reacher novel delivers a jolt to the nervous system.”—Kirkus Reviews

A Way of Escape: A Novel

A Way of Escape: A Novel

No one fought the war on drugs with as much determination as county prosecutor, Blake Ramsey, until he died of a cocaine overdose. His wife, Erin, and teenage daughter have to live with the shame of his hypocrisy until Erin starts digging up information that others in their small town do not want revealed. Suddenly she and her daughter are in great danger and forced to run. Their only ally is the last person Erin ever expected to trust, a man her husband once convicted of murder.

1984

A Novel

1984

Portrays life in a future time when a totalitarian government watches over all citizens and directs all activities.

Yesterday's Dust: A Mallawindy Novel 2

Yesterday's Dust: A Mallawindy Novel 2

The eagerly awaited sequel to Mallawindy by the bestselling author of the Woody Creek series "Delightfully black" Australian Bookseller & Publisher Is Mallawindy, a place of secrets, about to reveal the truth? In the 1990s, the Burtons are surviving as best they can, but Jack Burton continues to control his fractured family even in his absence. John has returned to Mallawindy unable to forgive his father and haunted by vengeful thoughts. Ann has three young sons and is soon to have another child, but still grieves for her firstborn daughter, Mandy. When the river disgorges what appears to be Jack's body, the family's tumultuous history is stirred up again. Yesterday's Dust continues the story of how even those who escape the town have to fight to escape its dark legacy. "Is there such a thing as winter beach reading? If so, Joy Dettman's Yesterday's Dust fits the bill nicely" Weekend Australian Fans of Rosalie Ham's The Dressmaker will love Joy Dettman.

Daughter of the Forest: A Sevenwaters Novel 1

Daughter of the Forest: A Sevenwaters Novel 1

The first book in the epic and compulsively readable Sevenwaters series "I enjoyed it immensely... For an Irish resident, familiar with the mores and customs, Daughter of the Forest had special meaning and relevance." Anne McCaffrey "This saga will hold you entranced" Australian Women's Weekly Daughter of the Forest is a mixture of history and heritage, myth and magic, legend and love. Lord Colum of Sevenwaters is blessed with seven children but it is Sorcha, the youngest child and only daughter, who alone is destined to defend her family and protect their land from the invading Britons. For Sorcha is the only one who escapes the cruel influence of Lady Oonagh, her father's new wife. Exiled from Sevenwaters and cast out into the forest and the terrifying world beyond, Sorcha falls into the hands of the feared enemy. Now she is torn between a life she has always known and a love that only comes once. Fans of Marion Zimmer Bradley, Isobelle Carmody and Robin Hobb will love Juliet Marillier.