Escape from Freedom

Escape from Freedom

The author analyzes what he considers to be contemporary man's fear of positive freedom and willingness to submit to totalitarianism.

Escape from Freedom

Escape from Freedom

Why do people choose authoritarianism over freedom? The classic study of the psychological appeal of fascism by a New York Times–bestselling author. The pursuit of freedom has indelibly marked Western culture since Renaissance humanism and Protestantism began the fight for individualism and self-determination. This freedom, however, can make people feel unmoored, and is often accompanied by feelings of isolation, fear, and the loss of self, all leading to a desire for authoritarianism, conformity, or destructiveness. It is not only the question of freedom that makes Fromm’s debut book a timeless classic. In this examination of the roots of Nazism and fascism in Europe, Fromm also explains how economic and social constraints can also lead to authoritarianism. By the author of The Sane Society and The Anatomy of Human Destructiveness, this is a fascinating examination of the anxiety that underlies our darkest impulses, an enlightening volume perfect for readers of Eric Hoffer or Hannah Arendt. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Erich Fromm including rare images and never-before-seen documents from the author’s estate.

Escape from Freedom

Escape from Freedom

Argues that man's freedom traditional bonds, although it has brought independence and rationality, has also made him isolated and anxious. From this isolation he is tempted to escape into new forms of authoritarianism and totalitarianism.

Escape to Freedom

Escape to Freedom

As a ten-year-old child, Leon Rubinstein fled Germany with his parents in 1933 to Luxembourg and then Belgium, which they fled again on the morning of the Nazi invasion. They dwelt quietly as refugees in the south of France until the Vichy government began its roundup of foreign Jews for deportation. After his father's arrest, Leon endeavors to save himself and his mother with a daring journey to the border towns of southeastern France. Among their encounters, they hitch a ride with German SS officers, while disguising their identities. Their arduous journey leads them to Switzerland, where the memoir provides a rare look at the lives of Jewish refugees in the Swiss work camps. Throughout this deeply felt story is Rubinstein's awareness of his transformation from adolescence to young manhood amid the catastrophic losses and dislocations of the war years in Europe. His personal story resonates with anyone who remembers discovering love, as well as the necessity of choices and sacrifices.

Escape to Freedom

Escape to Freedom

A dramatic escape from the Iron Curtain tests the convictions of a father and daughter on the run in the Secret of the Rose series. Aided by her one-time love, the American Matthew McCallum, Sabina von Dortmann has succeeded in rescuing her father from a Russian prison where he was held by the Nazis for many years. But now Matthew and the von Dortmanns must begin the far more challenging task of escaping the Iron Curtain and eluding the Communist authorities. Once important members of an underground network dedicated to helping Jews escape the Nazi death camps, the von Dortmanns themselves must now rely on strangers in a hostile country—as well as their unwavering faith in God—to find their freedom.

Escape to Freedom the Underground Railroad

Escape to Freedom the Underground Railroad

Find out about the secret language of the Underground Railroad and the routes that helped slaves escape to freedom.

Escape to Freedom

An Airman's Tale of Capture, Escape and Evasion

Escape to Freedom

The author was shot down in his Wellington bomber on his third operational mission. Captured shortly after, he was interrogated in Dulag Luft before being sent to Stalag Luft 1 on the Baltic where he stayed from April to September 1944. As the noose tightened on Germany, Tony and his fellow kriegies were kept on the move. He describes the increasingly harsh conditions he and his fellow endured, including the infamous Long March of the winter of 1945. He twice escaped, the second time successfully reaching the Allied Second Army.