No Filter

The Inside Story of Instagram

No Filter

“Deeply reported and beautifully written” —Nick Bilton, Vanity Fair reporter Award-winning reporter Sarah Frier reveals the never-before-told story of how Instagram became the most culturally defining app of the decade. In 2010, Kevin Systrom and Mike Krieger released a photo-sharing app called Instagram, with one simple but irresistible feature: it would make anything you captured through your phone look more beautiful. The cofounders started to cultivate a community of photographers and artisans around the app, but it quickly went mainstream. In less than two years, it caught Facebook’s attention: Mark Zuckerberg bought the company for a historic $1 billion when Instagram was just 13 employees. That might have been the end of a classic success story. But the cofounders stayed on, trying to maintain Instagram’s beauty, brand, and cachet, considering their app a separate company within the social networking giant. They urged their employees to make changes only when necessary, resisting Facebook’s grow-at-all-costs philosophy in favor of a strategy that highlighted creativity and celebrity. Just as Instagram was about to reach 1 billion users, Facebook’s CEO Mark Zuckerberg—once supportive of the founders’ autonomy—began to feel threatened by Instagram’s success. At its heart, No Filter is a human story, as Sarah Frier uncovers how the company’s decisions have fundamentally changed how we interact with the world around us. Frier draws on unprecedented exclusive access—from the founders of Instagram, as well as employees, executives, and competitors; Anna Wintour of Vogue; Kris Jenner of the Kardashian-Jenner empire; and a plethora of influencers, from fashionistas with millions of followers to owners of famous dogs worldwide—to show how Instagram has fundamentally changed the way we shop, eat, travel, and communicate, all while fighting to preserve the values which contributed to the company’s success. No Filter examines how Instagram’s dominance acts as lens into our society today, highlighting our fraught relationship with technology, our desire for perfection, and the battle within tech for its most valuable commodity: our attention.

No Filter

An Uncensored Guide to Life From the Internet's Big Sister

No Filter

For fans of BBC Three's Clean Eating's Dirty Secrets and The Cost of Cute, an honest and fun insight into tackling the problems that all young people face. From struggling with an eating disorder and body image issues to flashing Harry Potter (yes, that really did happen), Grace Victory has experienced it all. Here, in No Filter, Grace shares her inspirational story of growing up in a troubled household, battling with depression and finally overcoming it all by learning to love herself just as she is. After years of self-loathing and self-destructive behaviour, she hit an all-time low but thanks to therapy, good friends and an award-winning blog, she has rebuilt herself to become a TV presenter and an inspirational role model for young people. Thanks to her bravery, instinctive honesty and ability to break down taboos, Grace is now able to speak openly about her personal battles and she regularly offers guidance to her legion of fans. Brimming with hilarious anecdotes and no-nonsense advice, the Internet's Big Sister tells you everything you need to know about accepting yourself and fighting back, in style.

No Filter

No Filter

This poignant, sweepingly romantic debut novel told in dual POVs is perfect for fans of Everything, Everything and All the Bright Places. Anyone who follows Emerald on her social media accounts only sees a perfect life-her loving, wealthy family, tight-knit circle of friends, and devoted internet following. But the truth hides behind the scenes of her perfectly framed, filtered photos. . . Emerald's family is far from happy, and when she finds her mom unconscious on the bathroom floor, she can no longer keep it a secret. Sent to stay with her grandmother in a small beach town while her mother recovers and her father works non-stop, Emerald fears the long, lonely summer ahead of her . . . until she meets Liam. He's an aspiring songwriter with his own baggage, but neither of them can deny their connection. With secrets and lies all that they're used to, can Emerald and Liam really fall for each other-brave and true-with no filter? This fresh, funny, and poignant debut from Orlagh Collins is refreshingly grounded and sweepingly romantic all at once.

Our Story Needs No Filter

Our Story Needs No Filter

Sometimes, love is just an illusion. Sometimes, it becomes the sole purpose of your life. While stories on social media were trending, Raghu was lost in books. For him, even the idea of falling in love was limited to books-until he met Ruhi. As their love plays out against the backdrop of the upcoming student elections, Raghu finds himself embroiled in a mess he cannot seem to get out of. When his closest friends hatch a plan to rescue him, it only puts him in further jeopardy. Will his love sail through or will it get swept away by the storm of campus politics? Set in this elaborate sociopolitical milieu, Sudeep's new book explores the dark side of relationships, the pursuit of power and the hypocrisy of the powerful.

No Filter

Diary of a Polyamorous Black Girl

No Filter

Alicia Bunyan-Sampson is terrible at telling lies, even the "white lies" that help smooth over awkward situations and avoid painful conversations. This inability makes some things, like living with mental illness as a black woman, a challenge. It makes other things, like having a monogamous relationship, impossible. For Alicia, a polyamorous life is an honest one. It speaks true to her history growing up in a nontraditional blended family. And it allows her to speak truth to her experiences as a person with conflicting identities, struggling to reconcile her life as a polyamorous black woman with the intersecting stigmas and stereotypes that afflict those identities. But sometimes being yourself means being by yourself: the road to Alicia's realization of a relationship free of dishonesty is paved with isolation, social awkwardness, and alienation. No Filter is a personal genealogy, tracing the origins of what is often thought of as a purely modern model for relationships back to the earliest impressions of a woman's history.

No Filter

No Filter

When you're on the run from the mob, the last thing you should do is fall in love...Indy's become an expert at surviving. He's survived being a mobster's lover.He's survived a brutal attack on his life.He's survived being on the run, on his own, his heart firmly closed.After all, who could want him?Until he meets former army medic Noah and his friends-with-benefits Josh. Noah and Josh take him into their home after Indy gets hurt, and he discovers they're as broken and damaged as he is. Indy finds himself opening up to them, first with his body, then with his heart. But how can he stay when his very presence endangers them? His ex will stop at nothing to find him...No Filter is a steamy gay romance featuring a complicated but beautiful polyamorous relationship (no cheating!) that ends on a cliffhanger. The story continues in No Limits, the second book in the No Shame Series. Please note the trigger warnings in the front of the book.

Be You No Filter

How to Love Yourself and Stay #SocialMediaStrong

Be You No Filter

A step by step guide for young women who want to get the most out of life by keeping a strong sense of self and balancing their use of social media.

Caution I Have No Filter

Gift for Co Worker, Best Gag Gift, Work Journal, Boss Notebook, Monthly Planner (110 Pages, Lined, 6 X 9)

Caution I Have No Filter

Caution I Have No Filter.This is lined simple and nice notebook. Best for special occasions like birthday as well as a gift for child teenager, or adult. Perfect for personal use, or for your whole office. Get yours today! Specifications: Cover Finish: Matte Dimensions: 6" x 9" (15.24 x 22.86 cm) Interior: Bleed, White Paper, Lined Pages: 110

#NoFilter

Get Creative with Photography

#NoFilter

If you want to inject more excitement into your photography than just applying a filter in an app, this book is for you. It will inspire you to take your photos further, with ideas aimed at all levels of ability. Easy techniques like shooting through your sunglasses evolve to more advanced ideas like creating sun prints or distorting your images with the contents of your kitchen cupboard. The techniques are concisely explained through great examples of creative photography, making this an ideal book for anyone wanting to take their photos to another level.