The Dogist

Photographic Encounters with 1,000 Dogs

The Dogist

When Friedman moved to New York City, he missed the dogs that had surrounded him growing up. He began photographing dogs on the street, and posting them on his blog, The Dogist. Whether because of the look in a dog's eyes, its innate beauty, or even the clothes its owner has dressed it in, every portrait in this book tells a story and explores the dog's distinct character and spirit.

Best in Show

Best in Show

Best in Show is a collection of photographs of well-groomed and award-winning dogs by New York City–based photographer Dolly Faibyshev. The images from the Westminster Kennel Club Dog Show and beyond focus on the unique—and often humorous—relationship between each dog and their handler. Dolly Faibyshev focuses on kitsch, irony, and the larger than life human and canine characters that make up Best in Show. The result is a colorful, vibrant, campy, and satirical take on this specific slice of Americana. • The colorful, closely cropped juxtapositions of each coiffed canine contestant and their dedicated human are both humorous and charming. • Sure to delight fans of all breeds of dogs • A universal and ideal book for all canine lovers with a sense of humor Best in Show captures a specific subculture of dog devotees primarily from the infamous Westminster Kennel Club Dog Show at Madison Square Garden in New York. • A perfect book for anyone who is completely and totally obsessed with dogs and the Westminster Kennel Club Dog Show • Photographers and contemporary art lovers will also love this celebration of Dolly Faibyshev's work • Great for fans of The Dogist: Photographic Encounters with 1,000 Dogs by Elias Weiss Friedman, Dogs by Lewis Blackwell and Tim Flach, and Underwater Dogs by Seth Casteel

At the Master's Side

365 meditations for dog-lovers

At the Master's Side

"Within what I hope will become this dog-eared work" says Stephen Poxon, "365 shaggy dog stories are homed with verses of Scripture to encourage, inform and possibly even amuse. Use them as a dog might treat a puddle - to gaze upon with curiosity, to dip into, or to have a jolly good splash around. It might be that a line from a reflection will lead you towards a deeper concept. It might be that a thought provides a timely contemplation for the day, relevant to your circumstances and concerns. A year's worth of delightful reflections on dogs known and loved, each leading into a consideration of some aspect of God's character. "It is my prayer, as a dog devotee who tries to follow God, that these readings bring reminders of His love. As the seasons change and experiences vary between good, bad, and indifferent, may our relationship with a loving Heavenly Father remain a rewarding constant."

The Zen of Dogs

Wisdom That Wags the Tail

The Zen of Dogs

The Zen of Dogs combines original four-legged wisdom with heartwarming photos. Written by an award-winning author, The Zen of Dogs offers original enlightenment garnered from the loving nature of the best friends who happen to be an animal. If we are lucky, they are also our pets! By turns playful and profound, a dog's trusting soul forgives every misstep. They model the best a human can hope to be by keeping their hearts wide open. The relaxed ease that belongs only to a dog enriches our lives when they live with us as our pets. From miniature breeds and teacups like the Chihuahua and other small dogs to giant dog breeds, from funny dogs to stray dogs and purebreds, a dog's special wisdom is a precious gift. Bulldogs, terriers, spaniels, shepherds, dachshunds, retrievers, schnauzers, Labradors, pit bulls, Pomeranians, poodles, Dobermans, cockapoos, beagles, rescue cases, shelter dogs and pet adoption dogs win our hearts in this delightful collection. Fifty inspiring photos enhance original sayings in a full-color book that makes a perfect gift. A delightful collection for every dog enthusiast, animal lover, and anyone seeking peace or inspiration, The Zen of Dogs celebrates the joyful canine wisdom that can make us happier, healthier, calmer, and more loving. Perfect for fans of Zen Dogs by Alexandra Cearns, Devoted: 38 Extraordinary Tales of Love, Loyalty, and Life with Dogs by Rebecca Ascher-Walsh, The Dogist: Photographic Encounters with 1,000 Dogs by Elias Weiss Friedman, Zen and the Art of Happiness by Chris Prentiss, Shelter Dogs in a Photo Booth by Guinnevere Shuster, Dogs by Lewis Blackwell, and Dogs and Their People: Photos and Stories of Life with a Four-Legged Love.