The Invitation

The Invitation

Have you ever known a real life matchmaker? Victoria Lesser's spent years meddling with the hearts of her friends and clients, determined to change their lives for the better. Well now, it's payback time! If ever there was a man to challenge Victoria, Samson's the one. A Latin professor who cooks and speaks French, German, and Russian, Samson has an ancient map that he is convinced will lead to buried treasure. Tempted on board this modern-day pirate's ship, Victoria embarks on the adventure of a lifetime. Could it be that the indomitable Victoria has finally met her match? This is the final installment of the Matchmaker Trilogy, a true classic for fans of Susan Wiggs, Diane Chamberlain and Susan Elizabeth Phillips. With over 30 million copies of her books in print, Barbara Delinsky is one of the world's best beloved authors. 'Delinsky reminds us that we sometimes need to revisit the past to embrace the future.' Diane Chamberlain

The Invitation

The Invitation

When international lecturer Clifton Taulbert receives an unexpected invitation to supper in Allendale, South Carolina, he brings with him Little Cliff, the colored boy from the Mississippi Delta who is also Clifton Taulbert, carrying all he was taught as a child about staying "in his place" and surviving in the Jim Crow South.Transported back into a setting that looks and feels like the cotton fields and shotgun shacks of his childhood, Taulbert finds himself expected to cross racial barriers he would have been forbidden to cross before. The Invitation is the story of the man and the little boy inside him wrestling with a past they both know so well, while stepping into a future that is still being determined

The Invitation

The Invitation

Five thirty-somethings are horrified to receive an invitation to the funeral of the man who sexually abused them all at some point in their youth; the man they thought had died in front of them sixteen years ago. The story chronicles their attempts to discover the reason behind the invitation, the truth about his death and the consequences of their discoveries. This story spans from 1967 through to 1987, beginning in the coastal city of Portsmouth and culminating in the hauntingly beautiful cointryside around Corbridge and Hexham in Northumberland.

The Invitation

The Invitation

DIVYou can win over your temptations! If you want to walk in fullness and step/div

The Invitation

A Story of Growth and Healing

The Invitation

Camilla Warrick wrote two books, with breast cancer a key player in each of them, before she died of the disease June 24, 2002. The Invitation is a work of fiction about a woman who looks back into some of her difficult college years to try to piece together and make sense of her life situation. It was a quest Camilla also was on for the last six years of her own life. Her personal account filled many, many journals. She rigorously examined life, health, personal motivations and relationships. Those journals were the roots of the book, Home Is Where I Live, published in 2000. (www.homeiswhereilive.com) The Invitation takes the personal questioning and detective work to a more spiritual level, and indicates how hard one must try in order to live a meaningful and rewarding life.

The Invitation

An Adoptive Family's Memoir

The Invitation


The Invitation

The Invitation

In this classic work, the author joins the dots between three of the most powerful words in language: life, judgment, and inheritance. The edition is packed with new thoughts that move the reader both spiritually and metaphorically from life through judgment to the wedding feast of the Lamb. (Christian)

The Invitation

The Not-So-Simple Truth about Following Jesus

The Invitation

When Jesus called his disciples, his invitation was simple: "Follow me." But what Greg Sidders soon found after deciding to follow Jesus is that this simple invitation is harder and scarier than it sounds. In The Invitation he invites readers to venture beyond risk-free Christianity and live as true disciples. He takes readers on a spiritual journey through seven passages in which Jesus describes what his disciples will do, challenging readers to live the adventure of following Jesus.

THE INVITATION

What life could be if you are open

THE INVITATION

For the last twenty plus years it has been my privilege to offer classes that enable people to see life in a new way. A way that really helps folk become more fulfilled and more able to enjoy and contribute to this world in which we live for a few years. I have called these classes Resurrected life, or RLM. The success we have had has amazed me, so to reach more people I thought I would write this book, so here goes. Molly Sutherland

The Invitation

The Invitation

Despite having a loving fiancE, Kate Edwards is haunted by a feeling that something is missing in her life. After losing her job as a reporter, a sense of inspiration is ignited by an invitation to spend the weekend with Emma Daines, a retired professor of social anthropology and the former US ambassador to Germany. Kate has long admired Emma's accomplishments and for years has attempted to obtain an interview. Yet Emma Daines is known to be deeply suspicious of journalists, as she holds a secret that reporters have wanted to get their hands on for decades. A thoroughly mesmerizing novel, The Invitation takes us to a beach community in Northern California, where through a series of outdoor adventures Kate struggles with her internal conflicts over love, ambition, and her need to gain Emma's trust. Little does she know how her life will change when she stumbles upon Emma's hidden memoir which exposes the underbelly of her determination, her relationships, and brings to light the walls that keep us separated from one another. This riveting, insightful, and unpredictable story brings us into the heart of two women who ultimately learn from each other what's important in life and the real and powerful meaning behind receiving The Invitation.