The Last Days Of Magic

Author: Mark Tompkins
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 0698405714
Size: 10.69 MB
Format: PDF, Kindle
View: 5418
Download
“Fantastic . . . an honest, beautifully detailed book and an entertaining read.” —DIANA GABALDON, THE WASHINGTON POST "A fantastical treat." —PEOPLE “Simultaneously sweeping and intricate . . . Tompkins’s amazing debut novel conjures an epic battle for the soul of Ireland. Filled with papal machination and royal intrigue, magic and mayhem, faeries, Vikings, legates, kings and queens, angels and goddesses, this is one wild and breathless ride.” —KAREN JOY FOWLER “Plundering the treasure chest of human myths, from mysterious biblical giants to ferocious Celtic faeries, Tompkins has created a fantasy adventure with the shifting perspectives of dreamscape. A novel rich and strange.” —GERALDINE BROOKS What became of magic in the world? Who needed to do away with it, and for what reasons? Drawing on myth, legend, fairy tales, and Biblical mysteries, The Last Days of Magic brilliantly imagines answers to these questions, sweeping us back to a world where humans and magical beings co-exist as they had for centuries. Aisling, a goddess in human form, was born to rule both domains and—with her twin, Anya—unite the Celts with the powerful faeries of the Middle Kingdom. But within medieval Ireland interests are divided, and far from its shores greater forces are mustering. Both England and Rome have a stake in driving magic from the Emerald Isle. Jordan, the Vatican commander tasked with vanquishing the remnants of otherworldly creatures from a disenchanted Europe, has built a career on such plots. But increasingly he finds himself torn between duty and his desire to understand the magic that has been forbidden. As kings prepare, exorcists gather, and divisions widen between the warring clans of Ireland, Aisling and Jordan must come to terms with powers given and withheld, while a world that can still foster magic hangs in the balance. Loyalties are tested, betrayals sown, and the coming war will have repercussions that ripple centuries later, in today’s world—and in particular for a young graduate student named Sara Hill. The Last Days of Magic introduces us to unforgettable characters who grapple with quests for power, human frailty, and the longing for knowledge that has been made taboo. Mark Tompkins has crafted a remarkable tale—a feat of world-building that poses astonishing and resonant answers to epic questions. From the Hardcover edition.

The Final Days Of Magic

Author: J. D. Horn
Publisher: 47North
ISBN: 9781542040136
Size: 48.71 MB
Format: PDF, Docs
View: 224
Download
The war between witches reaches its terrifying climax in the final book in Wall Street Journal bestselling author J.D. Horn's spellbinding trilogy. Once caged in an illusory realm by blood relatives, Alice Marin has been freed into a world where the last remnants of magic are quickly passing away. Dissolving with them is the unity among witches...and their sanity. Grappling with the revelations of her true parentage--and her burgeoning relationship with Nathalie Boudreau, a psychic with her own demons--Alice and her allies, both living and dead, must draw on every skill they possess. It's the only way to defeat the destructive forces borne of the horrifying history of Alice's own family. That means unlocking the final secrets of The Book of Unwinding. Now, on the longest night of the year, the streets of New Orleans will become a battleground as Alice and the few she can trust engage in a war amid the final days of magic. But the revelations that lie ahead may be too dark to escape.

The Last Days Of California A Novel

Author: Mary Miller
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN: 0871405881
Size: 23.94 MB
Format: PDF
View: 1727
Download
Fourteen-year-old Jess' beliefs falter when her evangelical father packs up the family, including a secretly pregnant older sister and a long-suffering mother, to travel across the country and save souls ahead of the anticipated end of the world.

Last Days Of The Condor

Author: James Grady
Publisher: Forge Books
ISBN: 1466861258
Size: 52.15 MB
Format: PDF, Mobi
View: 4659
Download
Now on television: Condor, an AT&T Audience Network original series inspired by James Grady's first Condor novel. Look in the mirror: You're nobody anybody knows. You know pursuing the truth will get you killed. But you refuse to just fade away. So you're designated an enemy of the largest secret national security apparatus in America's history. Good guys or bad guys, it doesn't matter: All assassins' guns are aimed at you. And you run for your life branded with the code name you made iconic: Condor. Everyone you care about is pulled into the gunsights. The CIA star young enough to be your daughter-she might shoot you or save you. The savvy political aide who lets love trump the law. The lonely woman your romantic dreams make a fugitive. The Middle Eastern child warrior you mentored into a master spy. Last Days of the Condor is the bullet-paced, ticking clock saga of America on the edge of our most startling spy world revolution since 9/11. Set in the savage streets and Kafkaesque corridors of Washington, DC, shot through with sex and suspense, with secret agent tradecraft and full-speed action, with hunters and the hunted, Last Days of the Condor is a breakneck saga of America's secrets from muckraking investigative reporter and author James Grady. At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

The Last Days

Author: Laurent Seksik
Publisher: Pushkin Press
ISBN: 1782270655
Size: 13.72 MB
Format: PDF, Kindle
View: 582
Download
On 22 February 1942 Stefan Zweig, one of the most popular authors of his generation, committed suicide with his wife Lotte. The final, desperate gesture of this great writer has fascinated ever since. Zweig was an exile, driven from his home in Austria by the Nazis. Fleeing first to London, then New York, trying always to escape both those who demonised him and those who acclaimed him, he eventually took his young bride to Brazil, where they were haunted by the life they'd been forced to abandon and by accounts of the violence in Europe. Blending reality and fiction this novel tells the story of the great writer's final months. Laurent Seksik uncovers the man's hidden passions, his private suffering, and how he and his wife came to end their lives one peaceful February afternoon. "He looked long and deep into her eyes. 'I'll go first,' he said. 'You'll follow me... if that's what you want.'" From the Trade Paperback edition.

The Last Days Of Leda Grey

Author: Essie Fox
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 1409146243
Size: 57.71 MB
Format: PDF, Docs
View: 1784
Download
'Leda Grey's world is utterly beguiling' THE TIMES Book of the Week A bewitching novel about an enigmatic silent film actress, and the volatile love affair that left her a recluse for over half a century - for fans of Sarah Waters and Tracy Chevalier. During the oppressive heat wave of 1976 a young journalist, Ed Peters, finds an Edwardian photograph in a junk shop in the seaside town of Brightland. It shows an alluring, dark-haired girl, an actress whose name was Leda Grey. Enchanted by the image, Ed learns Leda Grey is still living - now a recluse in a decaying cliff-top house she once shared with a man named Charles Beauvois, a director of early silent film. As Beauvois's muse and lover, Leda often starred in scenes where stage magic and trick photography were used to astonishing effect. But, while playing a cursed Egyptian queen, the fantasies captured on celluloid were echoed in reality, leaving Leda abandoned and alone for more than half a century - until the secrets of her past result in a shocking climax, more haunting than any to be in found in the silent films of Charles Beauvois. 'A richly evocative story, brimming with intrigue and suspense' M.L. Stedman, author of THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS

The Last Days Of Dogtown

Author: Anita Diamant
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 1416556834
Size: 29.49 MB
Format: PDF, Docs
View: 5367
Download
“An excellent novel. A lovely and moving portrait of society’s outcasts…affirms the essential humanity of its poor and stubborn residents, for whom each day of survival is a victory” (The New York Times Book Review). Set on the high ground at the heart of Cape Ann, the village of Dogtown is peopled by widows, orphans, spinsters, scoundrels, whores, free Africans, and “witches.” Among the inhabitants of this hamlet are Black Ruth, who dresses as a man and works as a stonemason; Mrs. Stanley, an imperious madam whose grandson, Sammy, comes of age in her brothel; Oliver Younger, who survives a miserable childhood at the hands of his aunt; and Cornelius Finson, a freed slave. At the center of it all is Judy Rhines, a fiercely independent soul, deeply lonely, who nonetheless builds a life for herself against all imaginable odds. Rendered in stunning, haunting detail, with Anita Diamant’s keen ear for language and profound compassion for her characters, The Last Days of Dogtown is an extraordinary retelling of a long-forgotten chapter of early American life.

The Last Dragonslayer

Author: Jasper Fforde
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 0547738471
Size: 33.69 MB
Format: PDF, Kindle
View: 6215
Download
In his witty first novel for young readers, New York Times best-selling author Jasper Fforde introduces fifteen-year-old Jennifer Strange, who runs an agency for underemployed magicians in a world where magic is fading away. But when visions of the death of the world's last dragon begin, all signs point to Jennifer—and Big Magic.