The Seventh Bride

The Seventh Bride


Seventh Bride, Seventh Brother

Seventh Bride, Seventh Brother

She couldn't go home alone…could she? That was the question prodigal daughter turned social worker Risa Charez asked herself when she returned to Luna Hermosa. Sure, she was determined to do good in the community where she'd run wild as a teenager, but facing up to her troubled past sure wasn't easy. Then along came lovable loner Ry Kincaid, who gave her hope for the future…. Ry had been blindsided by the news of his long-lost family—the six brothers, along with sundry sisters-in-law, nieces and nephews were overwhelming to this solitary wanderer. Luckily, he could turn to Risa for shelter in the storm. She was teaching him to love…which was a good thing. Because it was time for the seventh Rancho Pintada brother to take his bride.

Postcolonial Film

History, Empire, Resistance

Postcolonial Film

Postcolonial Film: History, Empire, Resistance examines films of the later twentieth and early twenty-first centuries from postcolonial countries around the globe. In the mid twentieth century, the political reality of resistance and decolonization lead to the creation of dozens of new states, forming a backdrop to films of that period. Towards the century’s end and at the dawn of the new millennium, film continues to form a site for interrogating colonization and decolonization, though against a backdrop that is now more neo-colonial than colonial and more culturally imperial than imperial. This volume explores how individual films emerged from and commented on postcolonial spaces and the building and breaking down of the European empire. Each chapter is a case study examining how a particular film from a postcolonial nation emerges from and reflects that nation’s unique postcolonial situation. This analysis of one nation’s struggle with its coloniality allows each essay to investigate just what it means to be postcolonial.

The Bride Collector

The Bride Collector

FBI Special Agent Brad Raines is facing his toughest case yet. A Denver serial killer has killed four beautiful young women, leaving a bridal veil at each crime scene, and he's picking up his pace. Unable to crack the case, Raines appeals for help from a most unusual source: residents of the Center for Wellbeing and Intelligence, a private psychiatric institution for mentally ill individuals who are extraordinarily gifted.It's there that he meets Paradise, a young woman who witnessed her father murder her family and barely escaped his hand. Diagnosed with schizophrenia, Paradise may also have an extrasensory gift: the ability to experience the final moments of a person's life when she touches the dead body.In a desperate attempt to find the killer, Raines enlists Paradise's help. In an effort to win her trust, he befriends this strange young woman and begins to see in her qualities that most 'sane people' sorely lack. Gradually, he starts to question whether sanity resides outside the hospital walls...or inside.As the Bride Collector increases the pace and volume of his gruesome crucifixions, the case becomes even more personal to Raines when his friend and colleague, a beautiful young forensic psychologist, becomes the Bride Collector's next target. The FBI believes that the killer plans to murder seven women. Can Paradise help before it's too late?

Telling Tales

The Impact of Germany on English Children's

Telling Tales

Germany has had a profound influence on English stories for children. The Brothers Grimm, The Swiss Family Robinson and Johanna Spyri's Heidi quickly became classics but, as David Blamires clearly articulates in this volume, many other works have been fundamental in the development of English chilren's stories during the 19th Centuary and beyond. Telling Tales is the first comprehensive study of the impact of Germany on English children's books, covering the period from 1780 to the First World War. Beginning with The Adventures of Baron Munchausen, moving through the classics and including many other collections of fairytales and legends (Musaus, Wilhelm Hauff, Bechstein, Brentano) Telling Tales covers a wealth of translated and adapted material in a large variety of forms, and pays detailed attention to the problems of translation and adaptation of texts for children. In addition, Telling Tales considers educational works (Campe and Salzmann), moral and religious tales (Carove, Schmid and Barth), historical tales, adventure stories and picture books (including Wilhelm Busch's Max and Moritz) together with an analysis of what British children learnt through textbooks about Germany as a country and its variegated history, particularly in times of war.

The Seventh-Day Sabbath and Its Redemptive Function in God's Everlasting Covenant of Grace

The Seventh-Day Sabbath and Its Redemptive Function in God's Everlasting Covenant of Grace

This special and remarkablebook, The Seventh-day Sabbath and its Redemptive Function in God's Everlasting Covenant of Grace by A.M. Simataa addresses topical issues in the Bible quite pertinent to the 21st Century Christianity. The author takes a defensive approach of the gospel and brings to the surface some of the least understood teachings of the Bible. Although written from a Seventh-day Adventist's perspective, people of differing religious background and persuasions will fi nd this book very instructive. If you have been looking for a book that pains takingly discusses the Gospel seriously and biblically this is the book you have been searching for. Some of the topics featured in the book include: The Truth about the Bible Sabbath The Judgment of the Living Heavenly New Jerusalem; The Marriage Supper of the Lamband the Rapture The Remnant Church in the Parables Mr A.M. Simataa teaches at a High School in Windhoek, Namibia. He likes sharing the Gospel with others and spends some of his spare time witnessing to others. The central role of the Seventh-day Sabbath in the Redemption of our race is the least understood topic in the Bible today. Most believers have even dismissed its relevance to today's Christianity. However, the truth is that the Sabbath is at the heart of Christ's work to save human beings in accordance with God's plan. The Sabbath is so central to the work of atonement that Christ is referred to in the Bible as "the Lord of the Sabbath." The issue of the Sabbath will become pertinent as we near the End, and every human being will be required to take a stand in the confl ict involving the Sabbath question. This book will plant your feet on a solid foundation.

The Seventh Beggar

The Seventh Beggar

At the heart of "The Seventh Beggar" lies a contemporary young man's obsession with the legendary 19th-century Chasidic master, Nachman of Bratslav--kabbalist, storyteller, and charismatic whose cult following persists to this day.

The Seventh Day

The Seventh Day

A gripping post-apocalyptic tale from the acclaimed author of Mallawindy and the Woody Creek series The world as it was has been all but destroyed. Those few who survived the Great Ending are now ruled by an all-powerful group known as the Chosen, whose walled city encloses a diminishing population riddled with plague and threatened with extinction. Desperate to repopulate, the Chosen send searchers to capture every surviving female still living in the wild lands beyond the city for their new breeding stations. There is a girl with a name neither of her companions can remember, who is found by the Chosen's searchers living on a remote property. Since then, she has known little more than the life they enforce-a life dominated by their breeding program and genetic experimentation-while they immunise her and prepare to take her to their city. Then one afternoon a son of one of the Chosen arrives at the girl's farm, a boy who has fled from a life that he has come to find unbearable. His arrival sets in motion a chain of events which change the girl's life in ways she could not possibly have imagined-offering her a chance to regain the unthinkable-freedom. . .

The Seventh Sense

The Seventh Sense

From award-winning author Kim Richardson comes this first installment of a non-stop thrill-ride and gripping new fantasy series. Perfect for fans of Percy Jackson and the Olympians and Harry Potter. Grab it for FREE now! Fourteen-year-old Zoey is a street-savvy orphan, careful to live life under the radar, because of a powerful secret. But her life changes forever when she’s recruited by a mysterious society called The Agency, a group of people that control the balance between monsters and humans. As Zoey begins her training at the academy, she makes two new friends—hilarious and clever Simon, and handsome, mysterious Tristan. Along the way, she discovers a treacherous plan that points to a demon invasion, and possibly the end of the world. Zoey is determined to uncover the truth—but the closer she gets, the more she risks her life. The first book in this enthralling new series by award-winning author Kim Richardson leads readers on a fantastic journey filled with danger and action, lies and deadly truths that will have readers clinging to the edge of their seats.

The Seventh Royale

A Novel

The Seventh Royale

A historical mystery spanning four decades and three continents, The Seventh Royale takes readers into the high-stakes world of luxury automobiles, and ingeniously plaits fact and fiction into an ever-tightening cable of suspense Blending history with fiction, The Seventh Royale finds the “lost” Bugatti of history—the fulcrum of a plot that connects Grand Prix champion and WWII war prisoner Elio Cezale and his rescuer Alan Escher with Hitler’s Berlin and the Mormons of Salt Lake City. Photographer Escher is the narrator of this fast-paced thriller, and in unraveling the mystery of Cezale’s death, he is propelled into an international collectors’ world of luxury cars—and onto a collision course with Cezale’s secret past, a past that reaches back to Hitler himself.