The Song of Achilles

The Song of Achilles

Greece in the age of Heroes. Patroclus, an awkward young prince, has been exiled to the kingdom of Phthia. Here he is nobody, just another unwanted boy living in the shadow of King Peleus and his golden son, Achilles. Achilles, 'best of all the Greeks', is everything Patroclus is not - strong, beautiful, the child of a goddess - and by all rights their paths should never cross. Yet one day, Achilles takes the shamed prince under his wing and soon their tentative companionship gives way to a steadfast friendship. As they grow into young men skilled in the arts of war and medicine, their bond blossoms into something far deeper - despite the displeasure of Achilles's mother Thetis, a cruel and deathly pale sea goddess with a hatred of mortals. Fate is never far from the heels of Achilles. When word comes that Helen of Sparta has been kidnapped, the men of Greece are called upon to lay siege to Troy in her name. Seduced by the promise of a glorious destiny, Achilles joins their cause, Torn between love and fear for his friend, Patroclus follows Achilles into war, little knowing that the years that follow will test everything they have learned, everything they hold dear. And that, before he is ready, he will be forced to surrender his friend to the hands of Fate. Profoundly moving and breathtakingly original, this rendering of the epic Trojan War is a dazzling feat of the imagination, a devastating love story, and an almighty battle between gods and kings, peace and glory, immortal fame and the human heart.

The Song of Achilles

The Song of Achilles

SHORTLISTED FOR THE ORANGE PRIZE FOR FICTION 2012Greece in the age of Heroes. Patroclus, an awkward young prince, has been exiled to the kingdom of Phthia. Here he is nobody, just another unwanted boy living in the shadow of King Peleus and his golden son, Achilles.Achilles, 'best of all the Greeks', is everything Patroclus is not - strong, beautiful, the child of a goddess - and by all rights their paths should never cross. Yet one day, Achilles takes the shamed prince under his wing and soon their tentative companionship gives way to a steadfast friendship. As they grow into young men skilled in the arts of war and medicine, their bond blossoms into something far deeper - despite the displeasure of Achilles's mother Thetis, a cruel and deathly pale sea goddess with a hatred of mortals.Fate is never far from the heels of Achilles. When word comes that Helen of Sparta has been kidnapped, the men of Greece are called upon to lay siege to Troy in her name. Seduced by the promise of a glorious destiny, Achilles joins their cause, Torn between love and fear for his friend, Patroclus follows Achilles into war, little knowing that the years that follow will test everything they have learned, everything they hold dear. And that, before he is ready, he will be forced to surrender his friend to the hands of Fate.Profoundly moving and breathtakingly original, this rendering of the epic Trojan War is a dazzling feat of the imagination, a devastating love story, and an almighty battle between gods and kings, peace and glory, immortal fame and the human heart.

Galatea

Short story

Galatea

In Ancient Greece, a skilled marble sculptor has been blessed by a goddess who has given his masterpiece – the most beautiful woman the town has ever seen – the gift of life. Now his wife, Galatea is expected to be obedience and humility personified, but it is not long before she learns to use her beauty as a form of manipulation. In a desperate bid by her obsessive husband to keep her under control, she is locked away under the constant supervision of doctors and nurses. But with a daughter to rescue, she is determined to break free, whatever the cost... From the Orange Prize-winning author of The Song of Achilles, this short story is a dazzling retelling of the myth of Galatea.

Airplanes

Airplanes

It is never too early to learn science concepts, especially if the topic is interesting. This book uses the natural curiosity that kids have about airplanes to introduce relevant scientific principles. Readers will strengthen their reading skills and increase proficiency, as they learn basic science concepts.

Lucky

Lucky

With an introduction by the author of Circe and The Song of Achilles, Madeline Miller In Lucky, a memoir long-hailed for its blistering honesty and wit, Alice Sebold reveals how her life was irrevocably changed when, as an eighteen-year-old college freshman, she was raped and beaten inside a tunnel near her campus. In this same tunnel, a girl had been raped and dismembered. By comparison, Alice was told by police, she was lucky. Though Alice’s friends and family try their best to offer understanding and support, in the end it is Alice’s formidable spirit which resonates most in these pages. In a narrative both painful and inspiring, Alice Sebold shines a light on the true experience of violent trauma. Sebold’s redemption turns out to be as hard-won as it is real.

Year of the Dragon

Year of the Dragon


Songwoman

Songwoman

• A thrilling and mesmerising novel about one woman’s quest in Iron-Age Wales to defend her culture against the Roman Invasion • Strong female protagonist Ailia has been living alone in a remote forest following the destruction of her township, and returns to find the hopes of the tribespeople invested in a charismatic war-king • As well as being filled with sensuous fantastical detail, Tampke’s depictions of the Roman invasion are historically accurate • Tampke’s first novel, Skin, was shortlisted for the Aurealis Award for Best Fantasy Novel in 2015, and longlisted for the Voss Literary Prize in 2016. International rights have been sold in Germany, the Netherlands, Sweden, the US, the UK, and Vietnam • Songwoman can be read as a standalone novel, or as the sequel to Skin • Will appeal to fans of Alison Goodman, Margo Lanagan, Jim Crace, Isobelle Carmody, Juliet Marillier, Madeline Miller’s The Song of Achilles • The author grew up in Mosman, Sydney, and now lives in Woodend in regional Victoria

The Mermaid and Mrs. Hancock

A Novel

The Mermaid and Mrs. Hancock

Shortlisted for the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction • A Refinery 29 Favorite Book of the Year • A Booklist Top 10 First Novels of the Year • A People Best Book of the Fall “Wonderful… completely transporting.” —Madeline Miller, New York Times bestselling author of Circe and The Song of Achilles In 1780s London, a prosperous merchant finds his quiet life upended when he unexpectedly receives a most unusual creature—and meets a most extraordinary woman—in this much-lauded, atmospheric debut that examines our capacity for wonder, obsession, and desire with all the magnetism, originality, and literary magic of The Essex Serpent. One September evening in 1785, Jonah Hancock hears an urgent knocking on his front door near the docks of London. The captain of one of Jonah’s trading vessels is waiting eagerly on the front step, bearing shocking news. On a voyage to the Far East, he sold the Jonah’s ship for something rare and far more precious: a mermaid. Jonah is stunned—the object the captain presents him is brown and wizened, as small as an infant, with vicious teeth and claws, and a torso that ends in the tail of a fish. It is also dead. As gossip spreads through the docks, coffee shops, parlors and brothels, all of London is curious to see this marvel in Jonah Hancock’s possession. Thrust from his ordinary existence, somber Jonah finds himself moving from the city’s seedy underbelly to the finest drawing rooms of high society. At an opulent party, he makes the acquaintance of the coquettish Angelica Neal, the most desirable woman he has ever laid eyes on—and a shrewd courtesan of great accomplishment. This meeting sparks a perilous liaison that steers both their lives onto a dangerous new course as they come to realize that priceless things often come at the greatest cost. Imogen Hermes Gowar, Britain’s most-heralded new literary talent, makes her debut with this spellbinding novel of a merchant, a mermaid, and a madam—an unforgettable confection that explores obsession, wonder, and the deepest desires of the heart with bawdy wit, intrigue, and a touch of magic.

The Song of Troy

The Song of Troy

It was a clash of arms that would echo through the millennia: a hard-fought conflict born of love, pride, greed and revenge;a decade-long siege of the ancient world's greatest city from which nobody will escape unscathed. As urgent and passionate as if told for the first time, international besteller Colleen McCullough breathes life into legend, swinging our sympathies from Greece to Troy and back again as they move inexorably towards a fate not even the gods themselves can avert. Here are Greek princess Helen, sensuous and self-indulgent, who deserts a dull husband for the sake of the equally self-indulgent Trojan prince Paris;the haunted warrior Achilles;the heroically noble Hektor;the subtle and brilliant Odysseus;Priam, King of Troy, doomed to make the wrong decisions for the right reasons;and Agamemnon, King of Kings, who consents to the unspeakable to launch his thousand ships, incurring the terrifying wrath of his wife, Klytemnestra. THE SONG OF TROY: A legend reborn.

The Cartographer of No Man's Land: A Novel

The Cartographer of No Man's Land: A Novel

A Nova Scotian pacifist, assured a job as a cartographer in London, joins the war effort in 1916 in search of his beloved missing brother-in-law, leaving his son to fend for himself in their grieving fishing village. 20,000 first printing.