The Maya Book of Life

Understanding the Xultun Tarot

The Maya Book of Life

THE MAYA BOOK OF LIFE: UNDERSTANDING THE XULTUN TAROT is the companion book to the Xultun Tarot Classic Edition. It explores the archetypes and alchemy of the major arcana of the Xultun Tarot through indigenous teachings and the analytical psychology of C G Jung and casts new light on the meaning of 2012. The Xultun Tarot was created by Peter Balin in 1976 based on images from Maya history and culture. Taken from a single painting, it is the only tarot deck where the major arcana form a complete picture. This picture is a symbolic image of the alchemical marriage of spirit and matter and a map of what Jung called the individuation process. Only 500 copies of the original Xultun Tarot were ever printed. Now Kahurangi Press (xultun.com) has recreated this classic, long out-of-print deck true to its original large size and vibrant colours together with a book that explains the profound symbolism of the cards. Michael Owen is a clinical psychologist in private practice and author of Jung and the Native American Moon Cycles. He lives in New Zealand.

Xultun (Mayan) Tarot Deck

A Maya Tarot Deck

Xultun (Mayan) Tarot Deck

A Tarot deck based on the imagery of the ancient Maya with card titles in five languages - English, French, German, Italian and Spanish. Full color 78 card Tarot deck with easy to use instruction booklet. 22 Major Arcana cards and 56 minor Arcana cards.

The Sacred Tree

The Sacred Tree

Bestselling Native American title exploring Native American spiritual teachings.

Flight of the Feathered Serpent

Flight of the Feathered Serpent

Guide to the Xultun (Mayan) Tarot Deck. Peter Balin, the painter of the Xultun Tarot deck, has written a book about the tarot and the Maya Indians' view of the world. Although the approach is new and deals with American knowledge, it will serve all Tarot decks regardless of their origin. The reader journeys with the Fool towards the impeccability of the sorcerer, with each step along the way clearly defined. The graphics alone are so spellbinding that even if you are not interested in the Mayas or the tarot, there is something in this book for you.

The Tarot

History, Mystery and Lore

The Tarot

A guide to the origin and meaning of Tarot cards traces the Tarot's history, demonstrates how the Tarot works from a scientific and metaphysical viewpoint, and offers advice on reading the cards for divination, meditation, and inner growth

The Forest of Souls

A Walk Through the Tarot

The Forest of Souls

Take a Magical Mystery Tour. Join celebrated Tarot author, artist, and scholar Rachel Pollack on a magical walk through the mysteries, archetypes, and dream-like images of the Tarot. In the tradition of Carl Jung and Joseph Campbell, Rachel draws upon symbols, myths, and folk tales both ancient and modern, to illuminate the spiritual truths behind the Tarot's symbols. The Forest of Souls unfolds like a dream, in a series of musings upon the confluence of the sacred and the mundane. How can a simple deck of 78 cards become keys unlocking life's greatest secrets? While the most common use of Tarot is for divination, Rachel shows how to use the cards for readings of an entirely different nature. Asking improbable, even impossible questions, she plays with the sacred possibilities and answers that the Tarot gives us. What nourishes my soul? What is soul? What is Tarot? What plan did God follow to create the universe? We now know that the Tarot was almost certainly not originally designed to include Kabbalistic and other occult correspondences. Yet such systems can greatly enhance our understanding of and relationship with the cards. Embracing paradox and non-linear thinking allows us to push the boundaries of the known and venture into the unknown. It is in that sacred space that we open ourselves to wonder and mystery.

The Art of Tarot

The Art of Tarot